Photo of Senator Needleman.

State Senator

Norm Needleman

Representing Chester, Clinton, Colchester, Deep River, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Lyme, Old Saybrook, Portland and Westbrook

Follow Senator Needleman: Facebook icon. Twitter icon. flickr icon. YouTube icon. 

Sen. Needleman, Rep. Haines Welcome State Bond Commission Funding for East Hampton Bridge Replacement

State Senator Norm Needleman (D-East Hampton) and State Representative Irene Haines (R-East Hampton) announced today that the State Bond Commission is expected to release significant funding for a bridge repair project in East Hampton. These repairs to East Hampton’s Route 66 bridge over Pocotopaug Creek will ensure the region sees no interruptions in transportation.

“This bridge is vital for transportation through our region,” said Sen. Needleman. “The East High Street bridge on Route 66 is more than a century old – it is more than due for replacement to keep our drivers safe. Its expansion and upgrades will further benefit drivers in East Hampton and those who travel the road every day. I thank Governor Lamont and the State Bond Commission for their support of the 33rd District.”

“Route 66 is a vital artery for East Hampton that connects our community with towns west of the Connecticut River,” said Rep. Haines. “The road isn’t just important for commuters; it’s a vital route for emergency services and is host to numerous small businesses, retailers and manufacturers. Replacing the bridge over Pocotopaug Creek and making much needed repairs to the Arrigoni Bridge will ensure that residents can safely travel for years to come.”

Work on the East Hampton bridge carrying Route 66 over the Pocotopaug Creek, with a cost of $2.2 million, will see the bridge, built in 1913, replaced with a wider box culvert, with replacement of current resources and updates to existing guide rails, transitions and bridge attachments.






Legislative Office Building
Room 3300
Hartford, CT 06106-1591

Phone: 860-240-8600
Toll-free in CT: 1-800-842-1420
FAX: 860-240-0208

For general inquiries (will not be seen by legislators):

E-newsletter Signup


Facebook icon.Twitter icon.instagram icon.YouTube icon.